Expert Feedback – Dundee Space Centre

On Monday 17th of February each of us had a chance to present favourite three out of our five concepts for an innovative product for space to the experts from Dundee Space Centre. I have chosen to present my ideas for a Space Shower Suit, a Washing Machine for Space and a Blogging Device.

For the first of my ideas, which was the shower suit, I have been told to focus on the way the suit would seal. This could be achieved for example by inspiring my design by dry suits – close contact seal around the neck, made from latex, or silicone rubber. It would also use a waterproof zipper, which is currently used not only in dry suits, but also in space suits. Out of all of the presented ideas, the washing machine concept was chosen as the most interesting one, and the rest of the feedback focused around it. The expert was surprised, that clothes are just thrown away and seen it as a rather wasteful approach. He admitted, that it also must be a great discomfort for the astronauts. The washing machine that we use on earth would not work in space because of the lack of gravity (spinning process would not have the same effect). I was told that the idea of the two parts pressing and releasing the middle flexible part of the washing machine would be a good solution to this problem. I have also received a very interesting advice on how the drying process could happen – which is by having special sponges attached to the inside structure that would be able to get rid of more water from the laundry.

I found the feedback very useful and it gave me a better understanding of how to improve my ideas.

Leave a comment